Marketing & growth
Send-Metered Creator Newsletter Platform
A newsletter platform that bills creators per email sent instead of per stored subscriber, aimed at large lists that mail rarely.
Founder thesis
Creators with big, stale lists and infrequent senders pay for contacts they never mail, while the underlying send cost is a fraction of what incumbents charge. The bet is that a platform metering emails actually delivered can win that narrow segment on price and honest billing. The risk is that incumbents already ship parts of this, so the window is small.
What others got wrong
Per-contact pricing punishes large lists that mail rarely. A creator with 10,000 subscribers who sends every two to three months pays more than someone with 1,000 subscribers mailing monthly, one HN commenter wrote.
Mailchimp's free plan stops at 250 contacts, overages auto-bill, and sending pauses once the contact or send limit is crossed.
beehiiv and Ghost advertise unlimited sends but still bill on stored subscribers or members, so infrequent senders keep subsidizing heavy ones. beehiiv Launch is $0 to 2,500 subscribers and Scale is $43/mo billed annually.
beehiiv's pricing FAQ says Substack takes 10% off the top of every subscription, a secondhand claim from a competing vendor.
What should work
Meter on emails sent and make stored contacts free, with free exports. This undoes the per-contact bill a 10,000-subscriber, infrequent creator complained about.
Aim narrowly at operators with 5,000 to 50,000 subscribers who send at most twice a month, the group whose per-contact bill most exceeds raw send cost.
Offer free done-for-you migration, the wedge Kit uses to pull creators off Mailchimp.
Build comparison pages against Substack, Kit and Mailchimp. beehiiv's growth to roughly $22M ARR is attributed to organic SEO, a third-party claim, not proven.
What kills it
- Incumbents already partly ship the wedge. Mailchimp sells Pay As You Go credits 'best for infrequent senders', TopMail sells $20/mo flat unlimited on SES, and Ghost is open source with unlimited sends.
- No technical moat. Any competent team can copy the editor, broadcast and SMTP layer.
- Deliverability is the most-cited reason creators stay, so a cheaper entrant can lose on inbox placement.
- The target segment may be too small to build a business on.
What users want
4Not to pay for subscribers they never mail.
One HN commenter with a 10,000-person list mailed every two to three months wrote that the bill is higher than for a 1,000-person list mailed monthly, saying he has no idea why it is priced that way.
A bill tied to real send cost.
An HN commenter said he canceled Mailchimp after $230/month for 15,000 subscribers, when his whole server infrastructure costs $50/month.
No fixed monthly cost and the option to move every post back to their own blog.
An Ask HN poster weighing Substack and beehiiv listed 'has no fixed costs' and migrating every post to a personal blog after a month or so as requirements.
Inbox placement, even at the cost of price.
An HN commenter called Mailchimp's pricing frustrating but said it has the best deliverability of any platform he has tried by a mile, which cannot be waved away.
- Sources
- 17
- Checked
- 16
- Competitors
- 6
- Gaps
- 5
- Page checked
- 16 · 94%
- Snippet only
- 1 · 6%
- Documented
- 8 · 67%
- Interpreted
- 4 · 33%
- pricing6
- complaint4
- playbook3
- market2
- revenue2
Competitors
6- beehiivFree
- Ghost(Pro)$18/mo
Parsed from public pricing blurbs (entry paid tier when available). Max in set: $18/mo.
| Competitor | From | Free tier | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| beehiiv | Free | Yes | beehiiv.com✓ |
| Kit (formerly ConvertKit) | Free | Yes | kit.com✓ |
| Ghost(Pro) | $18/mo | — | ghost.org✓ |
| Buttondown | Unverified | Yes | buttondown.com✓ |
| Mailchimp | Unverified | Yes | mailchimp.com✓ |
| Substack | Unverified | — | beehiiv.com✓ |
What customers complain about
5| Gap | Src |
|---|---|
Per-subscriber pricing makes a big, rarely mailed list disproportionately expensive. A creator with about 10,000 subscribers sending every two to three months pays more than one with 1,000 subscribers sending four campaigns a month. | |
At scale the per-contact bill is decoupled from send cost. A 15,000-contact list on Mailchimp Standard is reported at $230/month while the sender's servers cost $50/month. | |
Deliverability, not price, keeps creators on an incumbent, so a cheaper entrant can lose on inbox placement. | |
Creators want no fixed monthly cost and the ability to migrate every post off the platform to their own blog. | |
Mailchimp's own page warns that sending pauses and overages auto-bill once the contact or send limit is crossed, the exact failure a large stale list hits. |
Documented Interpreted
How competitors find customers
4| Tactic | Src |
|---|---|
| Founder-led Hacker News posts and third-party migration write-ups about switching, which repeatedly hit the HN front page. Buttondown threads drew 126 points and 89 comments, 91 and 43, and 78 and 21. | news.ycombinator.com✓ |
| Programmatic comparison pages ('vs Substack', 'vs Kit', 'vs Mailchimp'). An HN-submitted item titled 'Beehiiv.com to 22M ARR from accidental SEO' links a third-party tweet, with the figure secondhand and unverified. | news.ycombinator.com· |
| A free plan plus free done-for-you migration and marquee-creator names (Ali Abdaal, James Clear, Tim Ferriss, Matthew McConaughey, Ryan Holiday) to pull creators off incumbents. | kit.com✓ |
| An open-source core plus an Explore directory and Recommendations surface. Ghost says 29,074 new publications started in a week. | ghost.org✓ |
Your angle & pricing wedge
| Piece | Claim | Src |
|---|---|---|
| Angle | A creator newsletter platform metered on emails actually delivered, not contacts stored, with unlimited free storage for inactive subscribers, free exports, and an MCP/Send API so a creator or their agent can send from code. Per-message and flat pricing already exists (Mailchimp Pay As You Go, Vero, TopMail at $20/mo flat) and Ghost is open source with unlimited sends, so the differentiator is the specific large-list, low-frequency segment, not the feature list. | |
| Wedge | Bill per email sent and make stored contacts free, instead of billing per stored contact. Amazon SES lists outbound at $0.16 per 1,000 emails on Essentials and $0.10 a la carte, so a 15,000-contact list mailed once costs about $2.40 against a reported $230/month on Mailchimp Standard, roughly 90% below even at a 10x markup, though deliverability overhead (dedicated IPs at $24.95/mo each, Virtual Deliverability Manager at $0.07 per 1,000) is real and the mechanism is already partly shipped by Mailchimp Pay As You Go and TopMail. |
How others got traction
4| Move | Why | Src |
|---|---|---|
| Buttondown cut its free tier from 1,000 subscribers and the business improved. | Founder Drew wrote conversion rates nearly doubled and margins went up, and that a 500-subscriber weekly newsletter costs $2-3 a year in email alone. | news.ycombinator.com✓ |
| beehiiv reached roughly $22M ARR. | An HN-submitted item titled 'Beehiiv.com to 22M ARR from accidental SEO' credits organic indexing, a third-party claim beehiiv does not state on its own pricing page. | news.ycombinator.com· |
| Kit gives a free plan to 10,000 subscribers plus free migration and shows marquee creator names. | The free plan and migration are a wedge to pull creators off Mailchimp, though Kit publishes no conversion number. | kit.com✓ |
| Ghost runs an open-source core with a managed service priced per member tier. | Ghost reports 29,074 new publications in a week, an adoption figure, not a cause. | ghost.org✓ |
Market heat
beehiiv is reported at roughly $22M ARR, attributed to accidental organic SEO rather than paid acquisition, a third-party tweet surfaced on HN and not stated on beehiiv's own pricing page.
More ▾Ghost's pricing page says 'Last week, 29,074 brand new publications got started with Ghost', company-reported and not audited.
Kit's pricing page carries marquee creator names (Ali Abdaal, James Clear, Tim Ferriss, Matthew McConaughey, Ryan Holiday), a sign of a large, monetized creator base.
More ▾Mailchimp limits its free plan to 250 contacts and sells Pay As You Go credits described as 'best for infrequent senders', conceding the segment this idea targets.
More ▾Buttondown self-describes as profitable and self-funded since 2017 with a free tier only to 100 subscribers, showing an indie position is viable.
Revenue signals
5| Signal | Src |
|---|---|
beehiiv: about $22M ARR, a third-party claim surfaced through a tweet and HN submission, not self-reported and not audited, so unverified. | news.ycombinator.com· |
Ghost: says 29,074 new publications started in the last week, an adoption figure not revenue, with managed pricing at $18-$199/mo and Custom unpriced. | ghost.org✓ |
Buttondown: self-reported profitable and self-funded since 2017, no revenue figure published, free only to 100 subscribers. | buttondown.com✓ |
Kit: no public revenue figure, only creator names and a $0-$66/mo ladder at 1,000 subscribers. Mailchimp claims to be '#1 based on December 2023 publicly available data on competitors' number of customers', a vendor claim. | kit.com✓ |
Category self-serve pricing for a 10,000-15,000 person list runs from about $0 (Kit free, beehiiv Launch, Ghost Starter $18/mo for 1,000 members) through $18-$199/mo (Ghost) to a reported $230/mo (Mailchimp, secondhand). Whether a send-metered entrant wins at $19-29/mo is a guess, and the low end is already served by free plans and open-source Ghost. | beehiiv.com✓ |
Should you build this?
The category monetizes and the pricing pain is real: a creator with a 10,000-person list mailed every two to three months pays more than a 1,000-person list mailed monthly, another reports Mailchimp Standard at $230/month for 15,000 contacts against $50/month of servers, and Mailchimp's page confirms free stops at 250 contacts with auto-billing overages. The cost structure behind an undercut is clear: Amazon SES quotes $0.16 per 1,000 emails and Buttondown's founder pegs 500 weekly subscribers at $2-3 a year in email alone. But the niche is crowded and the wedge is not novel: beehiiv gives unlimited sends free to 2,500 subscribers, Ghost is open source with unlimited sends, Mailchimp, Vero and TopMail already ship send-metered or flat pricing, and deliverability and the recommendations networks favor incumbents while the $22M ARR figure is unverified. This is not guaranteed to work and the target segment may be too small. Run one test first: recruit 15 operators with 5,000 to 50,000 subscribers who send at most twice a month, collect each one's last invoice and 90 days of send counts, reprice them under a send-metered model, and ask for a paid pre-order at $19-29/month. Kill it if fewer than 5 of 15 prepay, if fewer than 8 show a per-contact bill above 3x the SES raw send cost, or if a live A/B on 3 lists shows worse inbox placement than the incumbent.
More ▾
All sources
17| Source | Kind | Status | Accessed |
|---|---|---|---|
| pricing | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| pricing | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| pricing | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| pricing | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| pricing | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| market | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| complaint | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| complaint | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| complaint | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| revenue | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| market | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| pricing | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| playbook | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| playbook | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| playbook | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| revenue | snippet only | 2026-09-18 | |
| complaint | page checked | 2026-09-18 |