Other
Flat-Rate Self-Serve Warehouse Cost Copilot
A self-serve Snowflake cost copilot for small data teams: per-query and per-dbt-model cost attribution, plus safe auto-right-sizing, at a flat monthly fee.
Founder thesis
Small data teams feel Snowflake cost pain but cannot buy tools that fix it. SELECT starts at $1,499/month and sells by quote, Keebo charges only on savings, and Baselit is not self-serve, so the low end sits open. The bet is a flat $49-149/month tool that installs read-only into the customer's own warehouse and attributes cost per query and per dbt model, now that ACCOUNT_USAGE views and an MIT dbt package prove the attribution is buildable.
What others got wrong
SELECT gates warehouse cost tooling behind a custom quote that starts at $1,499/month and takes payment in pre-purchased Snowflake credits, so a small team either pays a four-figure floor or stays out.
Baselit kept its Snowflake cost optimizer not self-serve because it needs Snowflake metadata access, leaving the cheapest slice of the market unserved.
Snowflake's own budgets feature is not free. Its measurement and backfill tasks run serverless compute and store metadata, all billed to the account.
SELECT's free MIT dbt package breaks on real accounts. A large query history cannot load without first upsizing a warehouse, ACCESS_HISTORY returns 0 records on Standard Edition while still consuming credits, and a multi-step dbt Cloud job shows only step 1's models.
What should work
Open-source a dbt cost package and sell the hosted layer on top. SELECT's MIT dbt-snowflake-monitoring package shows 262 stars and 58 forks and seeds an install base the paid platform can convert.
Run the analytics as SQL inside the customer's own Snowflake, so the vendor carries no serving pipeline and a flat $49-149/month fee can sit under SELECT's $1,499/month quote floor.
Bill a flat monthly fee capped by tracked spend. Vantage already shows buyers respond to fixed pricing that does not add to the cost problem.
Ship auto-right-sizing behind a dry-run and approval mode. SELECT and Keebo both sell automated warehouse resizing, and that permission is earned, not assumed.
What kills it
- Vantage already gives Snowflake visibility free up to $2,500/month tracked spend and $30/month to $7,500, so the cheap slot is gone.
- No source shows small data teams wanting to switch from an incumbent on price, so the switching intent is unproven.
- SELECT's MIT package is free and the whole category is SQL over ACCOUNT_USAGE, so the product is easy to clone and hard to defend.
- Running the tool in the customer's warehouse shifts compute onto the customer's bill, and no source shows the vendor's marginal cost is near-zero.
What users want
5Catch runaway warehouse spend before it hits the invoice, without adding headcount.
A head of data wrote on Hacker News that the Snowflake bill has doubled, from ~$30k/year in 2021 to a ~$67k/year run rate, and the team is spread too thin for the optimization and policing work.
Per-dbt-model cost that survives multi-step jobs.
A package user reported that a job generating ~65 models across 3 steps shows only the 23 models from step 1 in the monitoring tables, so per-model cost is understated.
A free cost package that does not hide a one-time compute bill.
A user wrote that accounts with a large query history cannot run the package's first materialization without sizing up to a very large warehouse.
Attribution that works on Snowflake Standard Edition.
A user wrote that ACCESS_HISTORY exists on Standard Edition but returns 0 records, and running it consumed credits, taking 2 minutes on a Small warehouse.
Find the single query that blows the budget.
A Hacker News link carried the headline 'One snowflake query cost us $1000' with no body text, so the figure is a headline and nothing documents how the spend went unnoticed.
- Sources
- 16
- Checked
- 15
- Competitors
- 5
- Gaps
- 8
- Page checked
- 15 · 94%
- Snippet only
- 1 · 6%
- Documented
- 9 · 60%
- Interpreted
- 6 · 40%
- complaint6
- pricing4
- playbook2
- revenue2
- market2
Competitors
5Parsed from public pricing blurbs (entry paid tier when available). Max in set: $1499/mo.
| Competitor | From | Free tier | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| SELECT | $1499/mo | Yes | select.dev✓ |
| Vantage | Unverified | Yes | vantage.sh✓ |
| Keebo | Free | Yes | keebo.ai✓ |
| Baselit | Unverified | — | news.ycombinator.com✓ |
| Bluesky Data | Unverified | — | techcrunch.com✓ |
What customers complain about
8| Gap | Src |
|---|---|
Runaway warehouse spend shows up on the invoice, not in monitoring, and lean teams have no one to police it. A head of data on Hacker News reported the bill doubling from ~$30k/year to a ~$67k/year run rate and said the team is too thin for the optimization work. | |
The free DIY path is heavy on big accounts. One package user reported that a large query history cannot be loaded without first sizing up to a very large warehouse, a hidden one-time compute cost on the free option. | |
Per-object attribution silently returns nothing on Snowflake Standard Edition while still burning credits. One user reported ACCESS_HISTORY only works on Enterprise or higher and took 2 minutes on a Small warehouse to come back empty. | |
Per-model dbt attribution undercounts on multi-step dbt Cloud jobs. One user reported a job generating ~65 models across 3 steps shows only the 23 models from step 1. | |
One badly written query can dominate the bill. Only the Hacker News headline 'One snowflake query cost us $1000' exists as evidence, the item has no body text, and nothing documents how the spend went unnoticed. | |
Snowflake's own cost control is not free and works at the account level. Snowflake's docs say budgets run serverless _MEASUREMENT_TASK and _BACKFILL_TASK compute and store metadata, all billed to the account. | |
The low end is not empty. Vantage gives Snowflake cost visibility free up to $2,500/month tracked spend and $30/month up to $7,500, so any wedge has to be query and dbt-model attribution plus automated downsizing, not visibility. | |
No source shows small data teams wanting to switch from an incumbent on price. The switching intent behind this idea is not something I found voiced anywhere. |
Documented Interpreted
How competitors find customers
3| Tactic | Src |
|---|---|
| Open-source a dbt package as the top of the funnel, then upsell the hosted platform. SELECT's MIT dbt-snowflake-monitoring package installs inside the customer's dbt project and links back to SELECT's site. | github.com✓ |
| Launch on Hacker News. Baselit's YC W23 launch drew 48 points and 30 comments, while CloudClerk's BigQuery FinOps Show HN drew 5 points and 0 comments, so the channel works but is not guaranteed. | news.ycombinator.com✓ |
| Lead with fixed-price copy and give away free adjacent tools. Vantage opens its pricing page with fixed-rate reassurance and links EC2Instances.info, cur.vantage.sh, the Cloud Cost Handbook and LLM Models, with no published conversion metric. | vantage.sh✓ |
Your angle & pricing wedge
| Piece | Claim | Src |
|---|---|---|
| Angle | A self-serve flat-rate Snowflake cost copilot at $49-149/month for teams spending roughly $5k-$40k/month: it installs read-only into the customer's own warehouse through ACCOUNT_USAGE, attributes cost to the dbt model and the individual query, and auto-right-sizes warehouses behind a dry-run and approval mode. The catch is that SELECT and Keebo already ship query-level attribution and automated savings, Vantage prices visibility at $0-200/month, SELECT's MIT package is free, and Snowflake's native budgets feature bills its own compute, so this is a price and delivery wedge, not a new capability. | |
| Wedge | Bill the account flat, target $49-149/month, instead of per-credit, per-savings or quote pricing, and run the analytics as SQL inside the customer's own Snowflake instead of a proprietary pipeline. SELECT's MIT dbt-snowflake-monitoring package shows the attribution can be built as dbt models over ACCOUNT_USAGE views, and Snowflake bills per second with a 60-second minimum, so a flat fee can sit below SELECT's $1,499/month floor, though that also shifts the tool's compute onto the customer's bill and no source proves the vendor's marginal cost is near-zero. |
How others got traction
5| Move | Why | Src |
|---|---|---|
| SELECT open-sourced its Snowflake cost-monitoring dbt package under MIT and sells the hosted UI, attribution and automated-savings layer on top. | SELECT does not state this, but a free, installable package seeds an install base the paid platform can convert, and the repo's 262 stars and 58 forks are a public proxy for that reach. | github.com✓ |
| Baselit launched a Snowflake cost optimizer on Hacker News with 48 points and 30 comments, and kept the product non-self-serve. | Baselit did not say this outright, but requiring a demo and Snowflake metadata access leaves the self-serve slice below the sales floor open. | news.ycombinator.com✓ |
| Vantage sells fixed monthly plans capped by tracked cloud spend rather than percentage-of-savings or per-credit pricing. | Fixed pricing is positioned against the usage-based anxiety warehouse buyers feel, but the page publishes no conversion metric, so whether it drives signups is not shown. | vantage.sh✓ |
| CloudClerk launched on Show HN and the founder reported cutting monthly BigQuery spend by ~43% after building the tool internally. | The post drew 5 points and 0 comments, which shows a Show HN alone is not distribution in this niche. | news.ycombinator.com✓ |
| SELECT publishes named customer outcomes as its monetization proof instead of revenue numbers. | SELECT publishes no ARR, so outcome marketing is standing in for it, which fits the bespoke quote deals. | select.dev✓ |
Market heat
SELECT's pricing page sets entry at a custom quote, 'Starting at $1,499/month', and lets customers pay with pre-purchased Snowflake credits, a four-figure monthly floor for deep warehouse cost tooling.
More ▾Keebo's pricing page publishes 50-70% savings testimonials, vendor-published and not audited, under a pay-only-on-savings model, and its customers page names Barstool Sports and Costco Travel and quotes Sightline Payments. The Okta, Toyota Material Handling, Life360 and Cimpress logos were not on the page.
More ▾Vantage prices a Free tier up to $2,500/month tracked cloud spend and paid tiers at $30/month up to $7,500 and $200/month up to $20,000, confirms Snowflake and Databricks among 30+ providers, and uses fixed-rate copy. BigQuery was not on the page, and Canva, Rippling and Square as customers were not supported by the page, only PBS, Block and Extend, with Rippling on the homepage.
More ▾Bluesky Data raised an $8.8M seed led by Greylock, reported by TechCrunch in Sep 2022, for SQL-query cost optimization with a planned automated optimization engine.
More ▾Snowflake bills compute per second with a 60-second minimum and a 10% cloud-services allowance, so warehouse mis-sizing maps to a visible dollar bill. The $2/$3/$4 per-credit figures came only from search results and are not on the pricing page.
More ▾
Revenue signals
5| Signal | Src |
|---|---|
SELECT does not disclose MRR or ARR. It publishes customer outcomes instead, vendor-published and not audited: Exiger dropped Snowflake costs 40% in two weeks, Kargo identified a $500K/year savings opportunity and 5X ROI, Entain reached 35% savings, Personio spans 280+ direct Snowflake users, and an unnamed 'fast-growing AI startup' cut costs 60%. HomeChef is listed with no percentage. | select.dev✓ |
Keebo discloses no revenue. Its pricing page lists pay-only-on-savings and 50-70% savings testimonials, both vendor-published, and its customers page names Barstool Sports and Costco Travel. | keebo.ai✓ |
Bluesky Data raised an $8.8M seed led by Greylock, per TechCrunch, for SQL-query cost optimization. No revenue figure is public. | techcrunch.com✓ |
Vantage's public tiers top out at $200/month for $20,000 tracked spend. The tier prices are published, though the read that this caps self-serve ARR and pushes real revenue to enterprise contracts is an estimate. | vantage.sh✓ |
Category entry pricing runs from $0, Vantage Starter free and Keebo pay-as-you-go from $0, to $1,499+/month at SELECT. Whether a $49-149/month flat self-serve product wins is not shown, because Vantage already serves basic Snowflake visibility at $0-30/month. | select.dev✓ |
Should you build this?
The category monetizes and the pain is real: SELECT sells at a $1,499/month quote floor, Keebo names Barstool Sports and Costco Travel, Bluesky raised $8.8M, and Vantage runs a self-serve ladder at $0/$30/$200. But the free and cheap options are strong, with Vantage giving Snowflake visibility free to $2,500/month, SELECT's MIT package free, and Snowflake's native budgets feature only modestly not-free. Build it only if per-query and per-model attribution plus safe, reversible auto-right-sizing is clearly better and self-serve below the sales floor. First test: recruit 20 data leads or analytics engineers spending $5k-$40k/month on Snowflake who do not already pay SELECT, Keebo or Baselit, ask each for last month's bill and one dated cost incident with a dollar figure, then offer a $99/month flat pre-order with a 30-day money-back guarantee and a read-only Snowflake role; kill it if fewer than 6 of 20 can show a real incident, if more than 5 say Vantage Free covers them, or if fewer than 4 pre-pay.
More ▾
All sources
16| Source | Kind | Status | Accessed |
|---|---|---|---|
| pricing | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| pricing | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| pricing | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| playbook | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| revenue | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| complaint | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| complaint | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| complaint | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| complaint | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| complaint | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| market | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| market | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| pricing | snippet only | 2026-09-18 | |
| complaint | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| playbook | page checked | 2026-09-18 | |
| revenue | page checked | 2026-09-18 |